What if you’re wrong?

I don’t usually write things like this, but in light of events from today and other events of this last year, I feel compelled to have this conversation.  I don’t like to be questioned, but of this, I am certain. I am not wrong. I have full confidence. Whether you believe it or not.

That’s where this begins. You see, each of us has a choice to believe what we want to believe. We can believe differently and “agree to disagree.”  However, in the end, it really doesn’t matter how many “agree to disagree” conversations we’ve had, in the end, there is only one right. Now, don’t stop reading here, but hear me out.

I’m not a good sales-person. I don’t like to argue. And I surely don’t like you to take my word for it, but I LOVE when both parties have an experience and have a belief based on that experience that has shown them the truth about the product, lifestyle, fundamental, etc.  Here’s the thing, try it and then tell me it doesn’t work. But don’t just not try it because you don’t want to – or share something with me that you are TOTALLY convinced works, and give me the PROOF behind it.

So, in saying that – what if you’re wrong about eternity? What if I’m wrong about eternity? I will tackle myself first.

CaptainAmerica

This morning, a great man of God, hero, champion of the faith passed away.  Shock, yes! Disbelief, definitely!  We take comfort in knowing where he will spend eternity.

Here’s where it gets good. What if I’m wrong about eternity? What if I’ve spent my life trying to do the right thing, surrendered to the Lord, King of Kings, God of the universe, who “knit me together in my mother’s womb,” whose book remains on the number one books of all times. What if I’ve spent my life growing and helping others grow to reach their full potential by encouraging each other, spending regular personal time in focused reading, prayer, thoughts, meditation, what if my energies have been focused on doing good rather than defending a cause or trying to prove something that confuses emotions and will. What if I have seen with my own eyes, the power of Christ at work, through physical healing, through restored relationships, through restored minds, through humility – helping your brother and sister?

I just say, if I’m wrong, then I have spent my energies being a good friend, a leader in my community, a faithful wife, devoted and loving mommy (even though I am tested), and a follower of Christ.  When I die,  since “it is appointed for every man to die once and after that the judgement” (Heb 9:26), and I reach that judgment, where do I spend eternity? Where does my spirit go? If I’m wrong, then my body goes into the ground and I rot away and nothing happens.  That’s the least that can happen. I have lived a good life, and people will hopefully remember me that way and more. (Although I have made a LOT of mistakes.)

But, IF I’m right, where does that leave me? If I’m right about more than just being a good person, but being a follower of Christ and living for a cause so much bigger than myself. If I’m right and there is an eternity awaiting me, then thank God I have believed in His son Jesus and surrendered my life to Him and allowed Him to be Lord and Savior. Even the thief on the cross got the assurance for eternity, Luke 23:42-43, Then he said to Jesus, “Lord, remember me when You come into Your kingdom:. And Jesus said to him, “Assuredly, I say to you, today you will be with Me in Paradise.”  

We never know when our time is up.  Even Paul spoke of it Romans 13:10-12 “And do this, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep; for now our salvation is nearer than when we first believed. The night is far spent, the day is at hand. Therefore let us cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armor of light.”  We are too close to eternity to linger in the what if question. Wouldn’t it be so much easier to know, and not have to add this question of eternity to your day to day cares and woes?

If I’m right, then I have believed in Christ and I spend eternity with Him and other believers, I have chosen to speak life, learn the way of Christ and live according to the Word, not for public approval or applause, but for the private communion which transforms and then overflows into every area of my life. I don’t have to stress because I have confidences. I’m not anxious, but have learned to be thankful. I don’t even have to fear, and I’m teaching my kids not to live in fear, “but in power, love and a sound-mind” (2 Tim 1:7). 

Please don’t read this with the mindset that I cannot see your point of view. I can listen. I have listened many times before. Eventually there become cracks in the stories, there is a hopelessness, a talking in circles, a trying to convince yourself that you’re doing the right thing. How do I know that, because I have tried to convince myself before when I was dead wrong that I was so right. It’s call deception, and it will keep you believing a lie until you can give the truth a chance and try it out.

So, what if you’re wrong?  What if you spent all this time trying to disprove this idea of eternity? What if you’ve spent hours trying to convince yourself that you are happy and you have peace of mind, but when all the people are gone and you’re alone with yourself, you can’t seem to find peace.  I would just say, ask the question. If you’re afraid of the answer, I would love to share some light with you.

What if you can change your course, just by asking what if?

2 thoughts on “What if you’re wrong?

  1. My perspective is just a bit different but along your line of thinking. First, I am a Christian. I have a lot of friends and family who are not. Where their story is different from what you present is that they too offer love, care, and goodness to others while believing differently. So they are not alone and have a rich life of loving others – actually at peace also. In death they could go to the earth but could also find Christ greeting them because they behaved as He instructed. This is in contrast to those who claim to be faithful followers of Christ but behave otherwise in their talk and actions towards others.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your perspective. In Jesus’ teachings, He does say that they will know us by our love and also our fruit will reflect our relationship to Him. Being truly in the vine. And while we cannot judge people’s walk with the Lord, there is definite visible fruit. Behavior is a great indicator but fortunately, we are not the ones who know the heart of man. Only God knows their relationship status with Him. And while we may not agree, He will still welcomes those who are repented and believe. We don’t get into Heaven by world but rather by faith.

      Like

Leave a comment